Naturally Kinky

Okay now, I’m just talking about my hair, and if you know me well, then nine times out of ten you have heard me complain about just how thick and nappy my hair is. Everytime this subject comes up in a telephone conversation my friend, Carol, laughs as if she’s listening to a really funny stand up comedian at the Comedy Store. The truth is, I’ve always had issues with my hair; from the time I was a young girl to now I suffered from extremely dry coarse hair, completely devoid of shine. Because it was so brittle, my hair was constantly breaking off. My hairdresser used to compare my hair with steel wool. Humph! I was once turned away from a braiding salon because of my naturally kinky hair. “Come back when you get a perm,” she said. What!

As luck would have it, several months ago, I was talking to a childhood friend, Nanora, who suggested I try Miss Jessie’s Baby Buttercreme. She went on to tell me the changes she noticed since using the product and also how it has made life a little easier for another friend, Nicole, who uses the product on her nine-year-old daughter’s thick mane. Sage’s hair is no where near as kinky as mine, but I was willing to give it try. So I asked the girls at Miss Jessie’s a few questions, got online, and purchased the Curly Pudding ($38) and Baby Buttercreme ($58).

curlybuttercreme.jpgOnce I received my package in the mail, I washed my hair then applied the product. The results were amazing! I can honestly say that I love the way this product makes my hair feel and look. Whenever I use the Baby Buttercreme I can’t stop staring at my hair; it actually looks soft. It really defines my natural curl pattern and adds a must needed shine to my hair, and it smells good. This creme is the perfect moisturizer for dry coarse hair; however, it’s also great for all types of textured hair. 

The creme is great, but the Curly Pudding didn’t really work for me. It is important to know your curl pattern, since it only works well for certain types. I also discovered that I could get the same results with the Baby Buttercreme. If you’re wearing a press and curl, I strongly advise you not to use this product. Trust me, your hair will look like you stepped outside into the hot humid Mississippi air because the creme contains some water.

The Curly Buttercreme contains peppermint oil which gives it a cooling effect, other then that there is no difference between it and the Baby Buttercreme. If you want a creme for your child then I suggest you use the Baby Buttercreme.

Now, I know you’re thinking about the hefty price tag, but trust me it is well worth the price. Besides, Miss Jessie is running a buy one get one free sale until the end of this month. I most definitely will be placing an order this week.  

One Comment on “Naturally Kinky”

  1. Candice says:

    What is your hair like? I just ordered this product too. I have heard both good and bad things. I plan to try it in two weeks.


Leave a Reply

