Naturally Kinky Part 2

curlymeringue.jpgBefore I go on to tell you about a really great shampoo and conditioner for textured hair, I want to give you some more information about Miss Jessie’s products. I received an email from Nicole, telling me how much she really likes using Miss Jessie’s Curly Meringue. The Curly Meringue works well for her, especially for hitting the town at night when she desires a tighter curly look with a glossy shine. It really defines Nicole’s curls. I’ll remind you again that Miss Jessie’s products are on a buy one get one free promotion until the 31st of this month.

Now, when I decided to stop perming my hair eight years ago, I stumbled across a book coconut.jpgentitled, Let’s Talk Hair by Pamela Ferrell. In it, she details the history of our “battle with the naps” and self-esteem, selecting the right hair products, and styling tips, among other things. Well, Pamela is also the owner of Cornrows & Company, a salon in Washington, D.C. She also sells a full line of natural haircare products for all hair types. My favorite is the Coconut Shampoo ($10.99) because it leaves my hair soft and more manageable. It also contains coconut oil, which is a great scalp conditioner.  

My favorite conditioner is the Sweet Orange Conditioner ($11.99). I absolutely love the blended smell of lavender, sweet orange, rosemary, and lemon. This wonderful conditioner doubles as a deep conditioner and daily moisturizer. It’s also infused with a power house of good for your hair herbs.

Cornrows & Co.’s Island Citrus Pomade Oil ($17.99) is also a winner and is great for those with press and curls or perms. It doesn’t sit on your scalp, nor does it leave a greasy residue. While this is great for dry hair, I still think Miss Jessie’s Buttercreme is a better moisturizer for extremely dry hair, and again I do not recommend the Buttercreme for press and curls.

Before I go, you should also consider purchasing the Turbo Hair Dryer ($29.95) and nozzle ($11.99). This is the same blow dryer Cornrows & Co.’s stylists use on their clients.  When I bought this hair dryer a few years ago, it was the best decision I ever made. 

One Comment on “Naturally Kinky Part 2”

  1. Nicole says:

    Dear Fashionista,
    You are going to have me spending money.
    I’m learning a lot about some interesting products from reading your site. Thanks for keeping me updated.
    Nicole


Leave a Reply

