About Face

When I moved back home from Michigan, I immediately set out to find a really good esthetician. After months of searching, I thought I had finally found a good one, until the day she ruined my skin. Visual Changes was the product line she highly recommended and stood by, saying it was the best thing for my skin. First of all, I didn’t have a major skin problem to begin with, but after using Visual Changes I did. Whatever the ingredients were in the face wash and moisturizer caused my oily skin to dry completely out. Prior to using the products, my face would get extremely oily, especially in the heat of summer. Well, guess what! After using Visual Changes’ products the heat had the opposite effect, causing my skin to become very dry. I must not fail to mention how the blemish creme burned my skin, resulting in hyperpigmentation. Yep! I had a huge, dark brown dot right in the middle of my forehead that only went away after using bleaching creme. Needless to say, I was really upset. My skin was extremely dehydrated. When I started noticing fine lines around my eye area, I quickly sprung into action and was fortunate to find several products that helped whip my skin back into shape. I’m so glad to be able to share them with you today.

ccm_enzymecl.jpgMario Badescu makes a great skincare line. I use the Enzyme Cleansing Gel ($12) because it provides gentle exfoliation (papaya extract) without drying my skin. It’s perfect for all skin types. In addition to this cleanser, I also use their Glycolic Foam Cleanser ($15) two to three times a week. Although this cleanser can be used on all types of skin, glycolic has a tendency to be a little drying, but I use it because it helps to even and smooth out my skin tone. If you have acne or congested skin, then I would advise you to use it on a daily basis.

Since my skin was in a state of duress, I had and still continue to use the following products: 

To deeply moisturize my skin, once a week I use the Intensive Hydration Mask ($32) by DDF. With this mask, a little goes a long way; it will be in your medicine cabinet for a long time.

At night, I lock in moisture with Kinara’sNighttime Skin Quencher ($60). The shea butter in this cream contributes to its ability to combat dehydration. Don’t worry, you’ll have this product a long time too!

skinceuticals_hydratingb5tn.jpgBefore I apply any moisturizer to my face in the morning and at night, I first use Skinceutical’s Hydrating B5 Gel ($65) because it contains hyaluronic acid, an ingredient that enables the skin to retain water, helping it to stay hydrated. This is a miracle serum. I highly recommend it for all skin types. Remember, a good moisturizer is key to fighting wrinkles.

I know these products come with a hefty price tag, but the results are priceless. I no longer have the problems that were associated with my skin being dehydrated.

All of these products can be found at Kinara’s Skincare Clinic located on Robertson Blvd in Los Angeles and on her website. If you’re lucky, you might even run into Halle Berry who goes to Kinara for her weekly facials.    

One Comment on “About Face”


Leave a Reply

