Fashionable Play

Growing up, I had an awesome imagination and often lost myself for hours in the world of play. I really enjoyed playing with dolls. In fact, I played with Barbie for years. It wasn’t until half way through 11th grade that I sat down and gave myself a serious little talk. “Now, you’re getting to old to play with these,” I reluctantly admitted to myself. “Next semester, you’re going to be in the 12th grade, so it’s finally time to let Barbie go,” I said.  So I got a box, packed up Barbie and her things, and placed it on the top shelf in my closet. Although I never opened that box again she was always close to my heart, and I was devastated when my mother informed me that my brother destroyed all the contents of the box shortly after I moved away.

Barbies have undergone some changes over the years and have become quite fashionable these days. Several powerhouse designers, such as Anna Sui, Dooney & Bourke, and Diane sugar.jpgVon Furstenberg all have dolls baring their signature styles.

This summer, when I heard that Byron Lars was at the helm again, designing the first doll in a series called the Chapeaux Collection, I immediately pre-ordered Sugar and waited patiently for the Creole cutie to arrive in the mail. Let me just say that she is just as beautiful in person as she is in print. This photo does not do this doll justice.  Sugar is exquisite in an over-sized pagoda hat. Her ensemble displays a intense contrast of vibrant colors and gold stitching. I really love that she comes packaged in an oval hatbox. 

Even though I’m much older now, my being in love with Barbie continues on. It’s a passion that I will no doubt pass onto my little girl. 

One Comment on “Fashionable Play”

  1. Shanessence says:

    As you can see, I am catching up on your blog. This Barbie is CUTE! I still played with them too, till I was 16 or 17, because they were so much fun! I’m gonna check out the website and see if I can get one, too! 🙂


Leave a Reply

