Fashion Week Designer Spotlight: Baby Phat

I didn’t have the heart to reveal my true feelings about the Baby Phat handbag my grandmother so proudly dangled before me. “Did you see my new purse?” she said as if she had just received a fat check in the mail. I simply responded with a surprised, “You bought a Baby Phat bag!” When I really should have said, “How could I miss it!” The purse, like Simmon’s clothing line, is hideous and too far over the top. 

When Kimora coined the term and wrote a book on fabulosity, “which means a quality ascribed to that which expresses glamour, style, charisma, power, and heart,” I couldn’t understand it. The only thing I could visualize whenever I walked by her clothing was Halle Berry’s character in the movie BAPS. The clothing line simply lacked in the elegance and grace category.

However, I must admit that I was pretty impressed by some of the clothes Baby Phat featured on the runway during Fashion week. Love the boots!   

kimora.jpg

kimora1.jpg 

Photos sponsored by Shopstyle.com

To leave a comment simple click on the title of the post. Thanks!

One Comment on “Fashion Week Designer Spotlight: Baby Phat”

  1. Nicole says:

    Wow. You are being pretty straight out about Ms. Kimora. But you are right.


Leave a Reply

