Driving Drama Mama

My DH swears I’m a driving drama mama. Well, to a certain extent he’s right.

Where should I start… 

Most people are unaware that I used to be pretty hot tempered in my early years. At 19, I chased a girl who betrayed our friendship by spreading vicious lies about me behind my back. The 5′ 11″ girl desperately ran down the street trying to get home as fast as she could to get away from me. Why would she be running from me, especially since I’m only 5′ 3″ and weighed only 98 pounds at the time?  It may have had something to do with the fact that I was chasing her in my mother’s car. 

To make a long story short, the girl made it safely home without a scratch thanks to her front porch. While I was behind the wheel, the only thing I could think of was how could someone who I considered my friend do something so hateful to me after all I’ve done for them. My emotions were driving my actions, and I wasn’t thinking about the possible consequences of what could have happened as a result of my driving rage.

I was an intense driver then. Whenever another driver did something crazy on the road I would get behind them and flash my high beams or follow them until it scared the living daylights out them.   

Even though I’ve mellowed out over the years, that anger tries to raise it’s ugly head ever now and then, causing me to get into arguments with other drivers and I’m usually the one who starts it by rolling down my window or getting out of the car to ask, “Why did you do that?” or “Why did you take my parking space after I’ve been waiting for ten minutes?” and “How dare you give me the finger?” I do this because I want them to know they were wrong.  

When I’m behind the wheel of a car it seems drama is always some where lurking around the corner. Okay, so you know where I’m going with this story.

Yesterday, I was feeling good because DH left a really cute Valentine’s card on the dashboard of the car for me. He’s such a sweet man! So, I was running late as usual and wanted to get Gavriel to school as soon as possible. While I was in the turn lane another parent in a mini-van decides to not go through the yellow light and slams on his breaks. I didn’t get upset, I simply got out of the lane, crossed over two other lanes to turn down another street in order to make the light before it changed. Now, what I did was illegal, but not unsafe.

As I was walking back to my car where Daniel and Mademoiselle were, the parent in the mini-van says to me, “That was a pretty gutsy move.” I just gave a little smirk and continued on to my car, but no, he just had to add, “As a matter of fact that was pretty dangerous!” He said this and some other things to me as if he was talking to a five year old child, but again, I ignored it and got in my car. As I was passing, he stopped another lady and told her the whole story and pointed to me.

This my dear friends I could not let go; therefore, I got out of the car and walked right up to him and said, “I don’t appreciate you talking to me like child.” “I’m close to forty years old,” which is something I say because I get tired of people assuming I’m a young unmarried mom who got pregnant at 12. “Well I’m sorry for using the wrong grammar.” What! “You should be more careful because this is a school and you would have gotten a ticket if a police officer was around.” Really! First of all, sir, it is none of your business what I do. It wasn’t bothering you nor were there any children around. I realize that it was illegal, but why do you care! I told him to watch his tone and “How dare you talk to me in a demeaning voice, especially in front of my kids.” “Well, let me say this a little nicer,” he said. “NO! You don’t need to restate it, I got your point,” I said and walked away. I know he went right to the office to report what happened.

My DH has given me little talks in the past, and I’ve been trying so hard to change my ways, but this idiot really got under my skin.

You can always leave a comment by clicking on the title.

2 Comments on “Driving Drama Mama”

  1. Johanna says:

    I feel bad about that event….!!! I know what you mean about people talking to you like your a child…Im 27 and have a job, went to college got married…THEN had a child…But people always talk to me like im 15 with a child….Get a clue I Tell them, anyways youll always have the last laugh when you are young and your children are grown and their friends moms are old with kids…. Anyways I feel the hot tempered thing too…I had many of fights while in college at Hampton U LOL

  2. Nicole says:

    You are something for a 5’3″ woman.
    I also back you all the way. The nerve of that man. Jerk.


Leave a Reply

