Do It Yourself Pedicures

mirror.jpg 

I can never relax while getting a pedicure because I’m constantly watching like a hawk to make sure the manicurist does not clip my cuticles or cut my toe nails down to nubs. If I don’t watch then my feet will end up looking like they belong to Barney Rubble. I also make sure they polish and shape my nails correctly.

Now, the only exception to this rule is when I’m home in Los Angeles. It’s very easy for me to sit back and enjoy a relaxing foot treatment at one of L.A.’s premiere spas, L.A. Vie l’Orange or The Paint Shop Beverly Hills. Both salons offer a unique experience and are completely different from each other. Vie l’Orange offers a more serene atmosphere, while The Paint Shop has that party vibe. The Paint Shop always has great music blaring from the speakers, but I can’t really talk to my cousin, Lorena, without yelling because the seats are so far a part. I go because they’re pretty good at what they do, offering several themes to meet your individual skin needs like my personal favorites, With a twist and Rita’s and Rocks.  

I really like that Vie l’Orange offers lite lunches and has a nice size lounge area; perfect for a group or if you want to hang out while waiting for a friend to finish up with her treatment. I have to tell you, the manicurist are excellent too! Lucky for me and Lorena, our my next Old Fashion pedicures are on the house, free of charge. Yippie! The next time I’m in L.A. you know exactly where I will be.

Unfortunately, I have yet to find a place where I currently live comparable to the salons mentioned above, and not to mention I have Madamoiselle with me all day.

So, what am I suppose to do? You guessed it, DIY. Although I dislike doing my own pedicures, I want my feet to look well maintained. After watching for so long, I think I’ve mastered the techniques well enough to get the same spa results.

Here are some tools you’ll need to do-it-yourself:

  1. Cuticle oil
  2. Cuticle clippers
  3. Nail clippers
  4. Emery board
  5. Nail buffer
  6. Orangewood sticks to push back the cuticles.

ritas-and-rocks-0610.jpg

For a good scrub, cuticle cream, and foot soak, look no further than The Paint Shop. You can now bring The Paint Shop experience to your home. They not only give instructions on their website, detailing exactly how to do your own Ritas and Rocks pedicure, but also the products to get your feet ready for the warm weather.

Picture of feet taken from Mirror Mirror’s website.

One Comment on “Do It Yourself Pedicures”

  1. Shanessence says:

    Thanks for this helpful information! Another worry that I have is whether their tools are clean or not, so I always check and ask that. It drives me nuts watching their every move! Why do I pay to supervise the job that they should already know how to do well??? Anyway, lately, I’ve been slackin’ on the feet front…my winter boots and wool socks make pretty feet less of a priority for me. I love pedicures, though, and will have to join you and Lorena next time you’re in LA! 🙂 I can’t wait to see Ori, too! She looks/sounds like a diva already. 😉


Leave a Reply

