Scarves Reinvented

Actress Vanessa L. Williams in a Candice Held original.

119.jpg 

Last week, Mademoiselle and I went to visit an old friend, a socially conscious music artist I’ve known for about 14 years, at his Puerto Rican restaurant, Solfrito, in Oakland. I arrived a couple hours before the restaurant was scheduled to open for the day in order for us to have enough time to talk about our eventful lives and our new babies. 

I pulled up a chair in the kitchen and watched as the master prepared his native foods in a way his grandmother would be proud of. I was impressed by his ability to add spices as well as other ingredients without the use of measuring spoons or cups.    

The food, an exotic mix of Spanish and African culture, will make your taste buds dance. I’m not just saying this because he’s my friend. The food is actually really good. You’ll want to savor every bite filled with mouth watering indigenous seasonings and ingredients.

Good food and conversation with a friend, what a perfect way to spend the day. In the mist of our talking and laughing, I asked him if he was able to recall how we first met at Wholefoods market because I couldn’t no matter how hard I tried.

One of the things he mentioned was the scarf I frequently wore on my head, which is funny because I was wearing a scarf on that day too. If I’m not wearing a wig or braids, my hair is usually tied stylishly in a cute scarf because I hate dealing with my thick hair.

I not only wear scarves around my head, but also around my neck and sometimes my waist as a sarong to cover my rear end whenever I’m wearing a swimsuit. For me scarves are a necessary accessory. It seems I’m always trying to get my hands on some. So, you can imagine how excited I got when I saw Candice Held on the Tyra Banks show. Why, you ask? Because Candice Held designs beautiful one-of-a-kind dresses with vintage scarves. How cute and inventive is that? These little dresses are a perfect look for this summer and a very different way to wear a scarf.

120.jpg

1a4.jpg

1c1.jpg

A few months ago, Mademoiselle and I went to visit an old friend, Rico Pabon, a socially conscious music artist I’ve known for about 14 years, at his Puerto Rican restaurant Solfrito in Oakland. I arrived a couple hours before the restaurant was scheduled to open in order for us to catch up on each others lives and talk about our new babies. I pulled up a chair in the kitchen and watched as the master prepared his native foods in a way his grandmother would be proud of. I was impressed by his ability to add spices as well as other ingredients without the use of measuring spoons or cups, a skill I wish I possessed.    The food, an exotic mix of Spanish and African culture, will make your taste buds dance. I’m not just saying this because he’s my friend; the food is absolutely delicious. You’ll want to savor every bite filled with mouth watering indigenous seasonings. My favorite menu item is the Pollo Guisado, stewed free range chicken in a red sauce with solfrito, bell pepper, onions, and chunks of potatoes and carrots.  It’s served with plantains and red beans and rice.A good conversation with a friend and good food; what a perfect way to spend the day. In the mist of our talking and laughing, I asked Rico (I call him Rae) if he was able to recall how we first met at Wholefoods Market, where he was once employed, because I couldn’t remember no matter how hard I tried.One of the things he mentioned was the scarf I frequently wore on my head, which is funny because I was wearing a scarf on that day too. If I’m not wearing a wig, braids, or some natural hair-do my strands are usually tied stylishly in a cute scarf when I don’t feel like dealing with my thick hair.

I not only wear scarves around my head, but also around my neck, purse, and sometimes my waist as a sarong to cover my butt when I’m wearing a swimsuit. For me scarves are a necessary accessory. It seems I’m always trying to get my hands on one. So, you can imagine how excited I got when I saw Candice Held on the Tyra Banks show. Why, you ask? Because Candice Held designs some of the most beautiful one-of-a-kind dresses using vintage scarves. How cute and inventive is that? These little dresses are the perfect look for summer and a very unique way to wear a scarf.

A few months ago, Mademoiselle and I went to visit an old friend, Rico Pabon, a socially conscious music artist I’ve known for about 14 years, at his Puerto Rican restaurant Solfrito in Oakland. I arrived a couple hours before the restaurant was scheduled to open in order for us to catch up on each others lives and talk about our new babies. 

I pulled up a chair in the kitchen and watched as the master prepared his native foods in a way his grandmother would be proud of. I was impressed by his ability to add spices as well as other ingredients without the use of measuring spoons or cups, a skill I wish I possessed.    

The food, an exotic mix of Spanish and African culture, will make your taste buds dance. I’m not just saying this because he’s my friend; the food is absolutely delicious. You’ll want to savor every bite filled with mouth watering indigenous seasonings. My favorite menu item is the Pollo Guisado, stewed free range chicken in a red sauce with solfrito, bell pepper, onions, and chunks of potatoes and carrots.  It’s served with plantains and red beans and rice.

A good conversation with a friend and good food; what a perfect way to spend the day. In the mist of our talking and laughing, I asked Rico (I call him Rae) if he was able to recall how we first met at Wholefoods Market, where he was once employed, because I couldn’t remember no matter how hard I tried.

One of the things he mentioned was the scarf I frequently wore on my head, which is funny because I was wearing a scarf on that day too. If I’m not wearing a wig, braids, or some natural hair-do my strands are usually tied stylishly in a cute scarf when I don’t feel like dealing with my thick hair.

I not only wear scarves around my head, but also around my neck, purse, and sometimes my waist as a sarong to cover my butt when I’m wearing a swimsuit. For me scarves are a necessary accessory. It seems I’m always trying to get my hands on one. So, you can imagine how excited I got when I saw Candice Held on the Tyra Banks show. Why, you ask? Because Candice Held designs some of the most beautiful one-of-a-kind dresses using vintage scarves. How cute and inventive is that? These little dresses are the perfect look for summer and a very unique way to wear a scarf.   

2 Comments on “Scarves Reinvented”

  1. Julie says:

    Great post but turn off the music! It is mega distracting when reading!

  2. […] and Baby shows us to how to play with scarves with designer Candice […]


Leave a Reply

