The Undomestic Goddess

123.jpg 

After reading an email from Nicole this afternoon, I realize that I need to get myself together. If she can wake up at six in the morning, shower, get dressed, get her kids ready for school, cook breakfast, eat, drop her kids off, and get to work by 7:30 within an hour and a half; then perhaps I should, at least, be able to get my son to school five minutes early instead of five minutes late. And, maybe, just maybe, I can cut my bathroom time down a little from an hour and a half to say…an hour. 

If Nicole can get home from work at 4 PM, help with homework, make lunches for the next day, cook dinner, clean the house, go to the gym, make homemade cookies for dessert, read a bedtime story, and get in bed by 9:30; then perhaps I should be able to, at least, clean something before I go to bed. Maybe, just maybe, load the dishwasher.

I am truly a goddess, but unfortunately an undomestic one with no concept of time. I can’t help it. Its just the way I was raised, so blame my parents because they wanted me to be a high powered career woman and didn’t bother teaching me how to cook, fold, or iron clothes. Now, you tell me what happens when a girl raised in this manner gets married and has children?

Because of them, I hate ironing and folding clothes, and cleaning up. Housework is too overwhelming for me. I burn toaster pastries (organic healthier version of pop tarts) for god sakes. And, it takes me thirty minutes to figure out what I’m going to wear. Let’s not even talk about my time in the shower; or putting on lotion, cleansing my face, tying my hair in a scarf, and putting on makeup. I like to make sure I’m looking decent because in the back of my mind I’m constantly thinking, “What if I run into someone I know and I look like a hag!” I know its vain, but I can’t help it! It is just a part of who I am.

 Honestly, I’d rather spend my time out and about with, Mademoiselle. I’m fortunate to have a partner who doesn’t get upset if I spend all day out shopping, whether its actually buying or window shopping instead of maintaining a perfectly clean household. He knows I’m not capable of multi-tasking. If I shop, then I can’t clean because I have to help with homework, etc. when I get home. I just may be a part of a small majority, but I realize that there are a lot of women just like, Nicole. Most of you are professionals with the added responsibility of family, high powered career driven, and stay-at-home moms who may not have time to shop for stylish clothing.

124.jpg

If you fall into this category, then I have great news for you. One of my favorite stores, Saks Fifth Avenue, has the perfect solution to help women on the go balance their busy schedules with Want it – a list of nine fashion trends every girl needs to look absolutely fabulous for spring, including high waisted belts, shorts, shoes, handbags, chic apparel, and more. So for all of you busy women out there, Saks has done all the hard work for you so that you can focus on what’s most important and not feel guilty for for stealing a little time for yourself.  

*Saks is offering free shipping for purchases of $150 or more until March 25th.

**Yes, you can leave a comment by simply clicking on the title of this post.

6 Comments on “The Undomestic Goddess”

  1. kia says:

    hey traci! i think i sound like you, but we differ in that i work full time. bathing and cleansing, is not a process to be rushed. i like to gather thoughts in the shower, wash with my favorite bodywash and let the steam clear my mind a little. for a lot of us, cleaning and other chores are put on the back burner. besides, watching the baby and keeping her entertained is a job in itself. also, what works for nicole, may not work for you… so it’s okay. especially if your hubby doesn’t mind. you are lucky!

  2. Lorena says:

    Well Traci. Good luck trying to follow that schedule. I’m single with no kids and it takes me an hour to get ready for work. And that’s with no breakfast. Most of the time I don’t have breakfast because I’m not willing to get up thirty minutes earlier than my normal wake up time. If I was married and doing what Nicole is doing, I would have to quit my job.

  3. Cari says:

    Oh I completely sympathize with you. I have ZERO desire to do anything domestic. I’m trying to get into this cooking thing, and when my husband actually likes it…then I get excited…but usually my kids don’t like it…so what’s a girl to do???? Not all of us were born to be supermoms. Moms maybe..but supermoms not at all! Which is why my blog is entitled Undomestic

  4. Hey Cari, it is so refreshing to know there are other undomestic goddesses out there like me. Thanks!

  5. […] uneasy moment 1: i have this secret fondness (well, i guess it’s not a secret anymore) for the blog “The fashionista & baby.” Partly, it’s that her blog is so cleanly written, especially compared to so many mom-blogs, partly because i like her taste, but mostly because when i’m reading i think “yeah, i feel like that” pretty regularly. i was catching up on her blog and got to an entry where she was talking about being raised to be a career woman, not to do femme-y things like cook, sew, etc […]

  6. john1352616 says:

    keep up the great work on the site. I love it. Could maybe use some more updates more often, but i am sure that you have got other things things to do like we all have to do unfortunately. =) 13526


Leave a Reply

