Talk to the Hand

Poor customer service is the bane of my existence. It just makes my blood curdle.

If your not in the business of providing quality customer care, then you shouldn’t be in business. I don’t understand why it is so difficult to accomplish this easy feat. After all, a strong, solid customer base is the driving force behind any successful business. It does not require a advanced degree in manners 101, social intelligence or ethics to master the skill of excellent customer service. The only thing needed is just some good old compassion, understanding, and a moral business mind-set.

The ever increasing rudeness of people and this “talk to the hand” mentality in the world today is driving me crazy, and I refuse to tolerate it in the service and retail industries. Everyone who knows me, knows that I’m a stickler for customer service and will complain in a heartbeat if it’s not right. Why should I throw away hard earned money?  

With that said, back in February I emailed Maryam of Maryam’s Soap Nook, explaining the serverity of Mademoiselle’s eczema. I also informed her of Mlle O’s nut and milk allergies. Maryam quickly responded, telling me that she could whip up a special batch of body butter that included: cocoa, avocado, and mango butter, jojoba oil, vitamin E, Avena, and beeswax. After I received this email, I sent two additional that asked if this special batch would relieve baby Mademoiselle’s itching.

In repsonse Maryam sent this email:  

Avocado (Oil and Butter),  Evening Primrose oil,  Jojoba oil,  Meadowfoam oil, Olive oil, Emu oil, Cocoa Butter,Vitamin E, Calendula oil, Collodial Oats (Avena) are oils and butters that help relieve the symptoms of eczema and psoraisis and healing/ itching the best and that are not nuts or milks.

Well, I was convinced. So I immediately placed an order for a $25 jar of Whipped Body Butter (formulated for nut & milk allergies), which turned out not to be whipped at all. The butter was just a bunch of different oils that had been melted down and mixed together, creating a semi-hard substance that needed to be melted in the palm of my hands before applying. The butter also did not include the evening primrose, meadowfoam, or olive oil, but this didn’t bother me as long as the product was going resolve Mlle O’s skin woes.

To my surprise, the product did not relieve her itching nor did it moisturize her skin, but made it dry, which was very puzzling to me. I was upset, but since I liked the smell I decided to use the butter for my son who doesn’t suffer from dry skin and started research to create my own product that would best suite my baby’s needs. But then…

A few days later, I noticed four black spots on the side of the butter and when I opened it, I discovered it was mold. So you know what I did, I sent Maryam an email. The following is our email conversation: 

I was already upset at the fact that your body butter, which isn’t whipped, made my daughter’s skin more dry. It didn’t moisturize her skin at all. However, I got over it and said that I could use the product (10 different oils melted together) for my son. But…I was angry this morning when I discovered mold throughout the product. I couldn’t believe it! I feel it would be the right thing to refund my money and I can send you back your product.

From Maryam: I’m sorry to hear that the butter didn’t work for you, I’m also sorry to hear that you got mold in it as well, it is a natural product with no preservatives, and it sounds like you got water into the product.  Please accept my apologies.  Sorry, my message was sent before I finished writing it, if there are little white specks throughout the product it isn’t mold, that is the butters.  I re-read your email and I’ve never had or heard of the mold throughout the product,  If you introduced water to the product, there would be mold throughout the product.  When the butters harden they sometimes turn into white specks throughout the butter.

My response: No, Maryam, it is black mold. I don’t understand why anyone would put water in a body butter. I have used body butters for several years now and never did I expose them to water. I understand that it is a natural product, but no where on the packaging did it say to refrigerate. It sounds as if you’re telling me that I’m basically out of $25. Is that correct?

My email was sent on March 21st and I’m still waiting on a response from Maryam. I am pissed to the highest pissibility (made up word) at the fact that she blamed me, by saying I introduced water to the product. What! That butter was no where near water. Instead of making excuses, the right thing would have been to offer a refund or to ask how she could somehow resolve the issue.


    

11 Comments on “Talk to the Hand”

  1. mel says:

    Hi, I just happen to run across your blog and on behalf of all Sales Personnel, I would like to apologize. Yes, the apology should not come from me but, like you I am really tired of people who are supposed to be in the business but, do not do their business. I just attended a seminar over this past weekend and the main theme of several classes were CUSTOMER RELATIONSHIPSand FOLLOW UP!! You should have also had a money back guarantee. I feel you pain, I used to be a customer and because I couldn’t get TLC but, loved the product I decided to sell and handle the customers they way they should be handled. I hope next time you buy you will have a BETTER experience.

    Good Luck!!

  2. lteefaw says:

    This is the very reason I read blogs like this. You guys provide the inside scoop on so many different products. I now know not to bother with this line of body care items. I do hope you recieve full refund.

    Also, have you tried the diaper rash cream called “Butt Paste” on your little ones skin? I know it sounds crazy but it worked wonders for my son. Butt Paste contains the highest amount of zinc oxide something like 14%. The smell is a little strong so I simply top it off with Palmer’s Coco butter. Palmer’s also make a diaper rash cream that smells really yummy.

    Best of Luck

  3. P says:

    Aww damn. Sorry to hear about this. I could NOT agree with you more. If one can’t provide good customer service GET OUT OF THE BUSINESS!!! Simple as that. Like lteefaw said, I know now to stay away from this company. This is why us Moms gotta stick together. Pls keep us posted on how this turns out!!

  4. JustMe says:

    That’s awful. I’m sorry that you had to experience this. I have used Maryam’s products before and loved them. However, I never had to request a special batch, so I wouldn’t have that experience to draw upon. I applaud you for deciding to take matters into your own hands and blend your own ingredients for your baby. Let us know how it turns out. You may have a new customer on your hands.

    Good luck!

  5. Someone who values your opinions “Nicole” says:

    I’m sorry this has happen to you. I will for certain not purchase anything from Maryam’s Soap Nook. Her bad customer service is very displeasing. If she would have simply asked you to return your item for a refund or an exchange that would have been the best suggestion and would have proved she had good customer service and class. But obviously she doesn’t have either.

    Good luck

  6. Hey everyone, I appreciate your understanding and support. The issue with Maryam was the poor customer service. I make it a point to complain when something is not right because I’m the paying customer. Aveda was so sorry for an incident that happened to me in one of their stores, they sent me two years worth of free products. Now that’s great customer service. It doesn’t have to be something on that scale every time something goes wrong, but just make it right.

    I doubt very seriously that I will get my money back because as you’ve read she blames me for the mold.

  7. Marvina says:

    Sorry to hear about this. Maryam needs to got back to Business 101. Her poor customer service skills will end up destroying her business.

  8. Shanessence says:

    Sorry girl, that’s some craziness. And you paid $25, too! Uh uh. NOT poppin’. I hope you get your $ back.

    In the meantime, perhaps you should try some pure cocoa butter for Ori’s skin. Mix it with a little olive oil in your hands. Hope this helps!

  9. Thanks, Jamie. I actually just got a prescription from the doctor for Elidel. I was trying to avoid using medication, but the problem is out of control. I need to do what I can to provide some relief for Mademoiselle.

  10. Toya says:

    I’m sorry to hear about this. Bad customer service is one of my biggest pet peeves. My daughter also has eczema and we use Elidel on her, as well, so I hope it works well for Mademoiselle. I pray that Maryam does the right thing and gives you your money back.

  11. Yolanda says:

    Thank you so much for the heads up on Maryam. I too am always on the lookout for good quality natural products, link it with dependable customer service and you have a loyal client for life- but none and people like maryam will never see my business. I pray your sweet little Mlle’s eczema clears soon.


Leave a Reply

