The Fashionable Germaphob

1b2.jpg 

Growing up, I was free as a bird. It was not uncommon to find me hanging from a tree, sitting in the grass, or walking down the street barefooted. I even looked through our kitchen trash can to find things I could magically turn into a work of art.

When my mother was pregnant with my sister she had a craving for dirt, so there I was in the middle of the night digging up dirt for my mother without giving what I was doing a second thought. I touched door handles, wore shorts to the movies, ate at buffets, and wore shoes in the house. The truth is, I did a lot of things unconsciously that definitely increased my chances of coming in contact with some type of germ. 

But something strange happened after I got married (yay, 15 years of marital bliss) and had my first child thirteen years ago. The more I read or listened to the news about some kind of germ, the more I started over analyzing my environment. I stopped touching public doors and elevator buttons without something to protect my skin; I did and continue to spend several minutes in a public restroom lining the toilets with at least six toilet seat covers and several strips of toilet paper before sitting my little one on it. I even went as far as spraying it down with Lysol before proceeding with my toilet wrapping ritual.

It eventually spilled over to my son, who at two would not use a public restroom if it was dirty. He would literally kick and scream if I attempted to walk him through the doors. He would hold it until we found a clean restroom. Would you believe this kid never wet his pants? The hubby says, “You’re making our kids crazy.” What does he know!?

I cringe whenever someone tells me they’re coming to visit my home because the only thing I can think about is them sitting my sofa. You see in my mind I’m thinking this person probably went to the movies, sat down in those fecal matter filled seats before getting in their car, and you know I’m thinking those germs are going to be transported to my sofa then tracked all through the house. And let’s not talk about their belonging sitting on my floor.  

In fact, no one in my household sits on the sofa with their outside clothes on. As soon as we come home from an outing, we (the hubby, Monsieur D, Monsieur G, and even Mademoiselle) immediately change into our inside clothes. Before company arrives I usually drape blankets and sheets over the sofa. We don’t wear shoes in the house, and everyone is to quickly wash their hands. I rarely go to the movies. I’d rather wait for the video, but if I do go you can rest assure I’m protecting my body. I can’t even sit comfortably for fear I will touch the seat. By the end of the movie, my back is killing me.

This is nothing compared to how I used to be. At one time, I could not shake another persons had without silently freaking out. Though I’ve made some drastic changes, I’m still a germaphob and will continue doing the above (plus some other things) along with spraying the shopping cart with Lysol before using some additional protection for Mademoiselle like this adorable shopping cart cover by Snazzy Baby.

1b1.jpg

And of course, I and my cousin Lorena, who is a germaphob to the tenth power (yes, she’s worse than I am), can’t put our purses on the floor in a restaurant. Thanks to Luxe Link  for creating a chic device to keep your purse off the icky ground, and kick your fabulocity factor up a notch!

1a8.jpg

  

   

11 Comments on “The Fashionable Germaphob”

  1. Shanessence says:

    Girl, I am soooo feeling you on this one. I never touch bathroom door knobs, and girl, I don’t even sit on those toilets! I squat (Bally’s workouts got these legs in shape). And I internally cringe when I shake hands, too…especially if the person seems dirty or unkempt in some way. I cannot stand dirt (and I too feel a bit dirty coming out of the movie theatre). We have folks take off their shoes before they enter our abode. I think I drive hubby crazy sometimes, but hey, cleanliness is imperative!

    And congrats on your 15th-year of marriage. My dh and I will celebrate our 1st year in about 4 months. 🙂

  2. JJ says:

    omg! I’m so going to order this thing TODAY! thnx gurl.

    lovely blog too. i’m from the school of you can still be a fly hot momma even while sporting a burb rag on your shoulder. LOL!

    ‘m gonna b-roll you! 🙂

    later

  3. Yeah, Shanesha, I’m definitely driving R crazy too. Remember when I freaked out about you laying on my bed. I thought you were offended, but now I see you totally understand where I was coming from.

    Isn’t that cute, JJ?? It’s a show stopper. I totally agree with you on the hot momma thing. Thanks!

  4. JJ says:

    i forgot to add, my 4 1/2 year old is a germaphobe too and won’t use public restrooms either if he sees urine on the seats, an unclean floor, or any mess. He’d tell me, “um, i’m going to hold it til we get home, this bathroom is too dirty.” imagine that!

  5. Nicole says:

    Ok I have to admit I’m bad about germs too, but not that bad. My poor daughter will not and can’t imagine using a public bathroom. But that is my fault. It drives my husband crazy. So I have eased up a little so my child isn’t soo jacked. I get it from my mother. What can I say?

  6. Well, Nicole, I’m not as bad as I used to be. I’m really trying to break the habit because it makes visitors uncomfortable in my home. I would like for the boys to have friends over, but I haven’t gotten there yet.

  7. sharon says:

    For those of you that are freaked out about doorknobs and handles there is a new product called Hyso, its an automatic door handle sanitizer. Its great, I also have taught (through my germaphobe behavior ) my kids to flush toilets with their feet, open doors with paper towels and carry spray sanitizer everywhere. I live in Fort Worth TX and a company called Sparkling Image sells them.

  8. At least he understands, JJ. That’s a good thing!

    Thanks for the tip, Sharon.

  9. Paula D. says:

    I want one!!!! That luxe link is such a great idea!!!!! I will sometimes eat with my purse in my lap…especially if I am carying my Fendi bag.

  10. Shanessence says:

    Fashionista, I tooootally understood your germaphobic behavior when I came over…I’m the same way. 🙂 Love your blog!

  11. Marvina says:

    Thank you so much for this info. I am on my way out right now to get the LUXE LINK. I love my handbags and feel horrible everytime I have to lay it down on the ground for any reason.


Leave a Reply

