Paging, Cedella Marley

127.jpg

According to mainstream society’s standards, I was somewhat of an anomaly as a teen, always going against the grain by constantly pushing the fashion envelope to the ultimate limit. I guess you can say I was an independent thinker who didn’t follow popular trends. I didn’t care about the opinion of others. I wore what felt and looked good on me. 

I guess you would describe it as my personal style. The art of personal style is being your true uninhibited self with confidence no matter what you’re wearing. So, I’m always on the look out for clothes that best fit my personality. 

Last year, I was walking past Jeremys, a designer discount clothing store, when I spotted a funky, vintage, urban chic jacket in the window. I rushed in and frantically searched all over the store for the jacket. I finally decided to ask a salesperson for help only to be told  the only jacket left was the one in the window. You know I had to have this jacket, right?

After going back and forth with management, they finally agreed to let me try the jacket on. I don’t understand what the big deal was in the first place, either you want my money or you don’t. It’s that simple. Once I tried it on I immediately fell in love because it screamed me loud and clear. When I looked at the label, I discovered the designer was the daughter of Bob Marley, Cedella Marley

Since then, I’ve only been able to find bits and pieces from her clothing line Catch a Fire scattered here and there, and its been pretty frustrating. Although some items are available online through her website, most are out of stock. I know she’s been busy with the new Marley Resort in Cable Beach, Nassau Bahamas, but I’m wondering when she’ll return to doing what she does best, designing clothes for those individuals who dare to be different and are not afraid to live life out loud.

 

6 Comments on “Paging, Cedella Marley”

  1. jj says:

    woman! i feel your pain. i only recently came into my own – fashion wise. you are what i call “effortlessly fashionable” (there are 4 categories in my book), the kind that throw on pieces, mix and match in a way where an average person wouldn’t think to make such a combination, but you do it and it works!

    thanks for the links. will check them out.

  2. Was A C2K7V says:

    I totally feel you on the personal style. I too have a personal style that, when described, sounds odd to most people, but when on gets loads of compliments. I LOVE LOVE LOVE PREFER designer duds, but I take pride in my ability to pull together pieces from Walmart (where else are you supposed to get asomething new to wear because you aren’t feeling like double, or triple, playing any of your current ‘club’ fashions, at 11PM because you have just decided that yes, you will go out with your girlfriends and have fun) and make them look oh so chic!

    BTW – I’m new to reading your blog but I love it!

  3. You are too kind, JJ. Thanks for the compliments!

    I love it when people can rock clothes out of Walmart, making them look as if they came from Saks. My aunt is one those types of people too, C2K7V.

  4. Samantha says:

    I gush over the cutest baby clothes that I found at http://www.Sandboxcouture.com. You have to see the Flowers by Zoe girls line that is on sale!

  5. Hey Samantha, thanks for the tip. The dress by Zoe is absolutely adorable!

  6. lilhulagirl says:

    I feel you! I am from Hawaii and just came across “Catch a Fire” at one of those big chain stores, D.E.M.O. Anway, I loved it as soon as I saw it. I too have been searching high and low for contact information because I work in retail and am dying to rep it in Hawaii knowing the potential it would have in this market. But…… after countless hours of searching online I have come up with no information. Not from her website, which is online but, no longer worker or any other site. Came across a phone number which to my dismay is no longer in service. I do not know and am desperate to find out… So, if I find anything I would be sure to let you know as I feel your pain.


Leave a Reply

