A Perfect Face: Cleansers and Moisturizers

 1a11.jpg

As luck would have it, a few weeks ago I ran out of Mario Badescu’s Collagen moisturizer with SPF 15. Normally, I would be in a state of panic but was relieved because, a few days prior, a bottle of Skin MD’s Shielding Lotion had been sent to me to review. If you’ve been reading my blog for a while, then you know that I don’t have many issues with my skin. In fact, most estheticians and makeup artist swear I don’t need to wear a foundation; nevertheless, I exclusively wear Armani’s Luminous Silk foundation anyway. I just like the way my skin looks with it on. I usually mix a small amount with my moisturizer so that I don’t look as though I have foundation on. Don’t try to understand it, just accept what I’m saying. And yes, I know your not suppose to mix foundation with moisturizer because it’s best to allow the moisturizer to absorb completely into your skin first. But I digress…

In the beginning, when I used Skin MD’s Shielding Lotion; a light weight, non-greasy cream, my face felt extremely tight and dry for a few days and eventually started to peel. I was tempted to stop using it, but realized that it needed to be used as directed in order to achieve results, which for me translates into a nice glow. Healthy skin should have a dewy appearance; not oily. I was able to see my skin recover and the radience I was looking for after I got over the intial hump. The fact that the lotion needs to be applied every 2-8 hours is a problem for a busy mom like me and it lacks sun protection.  

The lotion is designed to act as a protective barrier that keeps irritants out and moisture in. Although you will not see results immediately, with continual usage as directed, it is ideal for those who have dry skin because it doesn’t wash off right away and it will help to restore skin.  In fact, it is recommended for those who suffer from eczema or psoriasis. 

1a12.jpg 

 Now that I’ve also run out of my main face cleanser, Mario Badescu’s Enzyme Cleansing Cream, a non-foaming gel cleanser that removes dirt and makeup and is a gentle exfoliate, I need to purchase another. Though I like the results of using the cleanser, I also like to change thing up since skin becomes less reponsive to products after long-term use. I’m placing an order for the Orange Cleansing Soap that I will use daily to help remove the build up from the skin’s surface.

Every 2 to 3 days I like to use a deep cleanser that not only exfoliates, but reduces minor discoloration. Badescu’s Glycolic Foaming Cleanser is perfect for that. As far as a moisturizer goes, I will continue to use the Collagen Moisturizer (SPF-15), a cream that pumps the skin and seals in moisture. At night I’m hooked on Kinara’s Skin Quencher and Skinceutical’s Hyaluronic Serum. You can read my post About Face for details on why I selected these products and where to find them.      

Though Mario Badescu’s products are used by celebrities like Naomi Campbell, they are reasonably priced and will last a long time. For example, the Orange face soap is only $12. If you fill out a skin questionnaire, you’ll get an email with a list of recommended products that they will send you free samples of. 

3 Comments on “A Perfect Face: Cleansers and Moisturizers”

  1. Yolanda says:

    Thank you for these reviews- I’m in desperate need for a new facial routine and this helps tremendously.

  2. Hey Yolanda, Mario Badescu makes some really good products for your face. I wrote about my horror story in ‘About Face’ that led me to his products. And like I mentioned, they’re reasonably priced.

  3. Nicole says:

    Thank you Traci. I got my free sample of Mario Badescu.
    I’m on my second night of using the product. I like it so far.
    I also like the fact that he gives you directions and pictures on how to use the product. Very helpful.


Leave a Reply

