The Charmed Ones

1a43.jpg

The old adage, “There’s nothing new under the sun” definitely holds true for the latest fashion trend, charms. Charms have been around since the age of Egyptian Pharaohs, who wore them around their necks and wrist not only for protection, but also as a symbol of status. Charms also served a practical purpose for Christians, Jewish scholars, knights, and kings. They were worn to represent family lineage, profession, political standing, and used to gain access into secret meetings. As the centuries forged ahead, though charms became synonymous with the wealthy and well-educated, they eventually lost their magical lure for the upper classes, but were widely worn by members of the lower classes. It wasn’t until the 20th century that charms were worn as fashionable pieces of jewelry. People wore lockets, family crests, replicas of popular local items dangling from bracelets and necklaces. 

1a44.jpg1a45.jpg

Today, charms are once again popular for both the upper and lower classes, and can be seen hanging not only from bracelets and necklaces, but cell phones and purses. For some, charms may carry a significant meaning and for others it’s all about the cute factor.

1a46.jpg

Nanora asked me what the deal was with charms, at the time I told her I didn’t know why they were so popular, but I knew I wanted one of Aaron Basha’s charms. I fell in love with Basha’s charms about a year and a half ago. I was drawn by the craftsmanship, delicate designs, and of course, the diamonds. I just think they are the most adorable charms I’ve seen around. While I can’t see myself forking out $1800 – $4600 for one of these beauties, I love admiring them as an exquisite piece of art.     

 

2 Comments on “The Charmed Ones”

  1. Yolanda says:

    Those are so dainty and cute

  2. Nanora says:

    Those charms are works of art. I still have my charm holder from when I was 12. Charm holders were such an 80’s thing. Where are they now? I know, if anybody, you would know.
    Lovin’ the blog.


Leave a Reply

