A Style of Her Own: Nurturing Good Taste

Little Fashionista 1

It is amazing to watch the intellectual prowess of Mademoiselle unfold. At 8 months, she already loves to emulate her mother often pretending to read by pointing at the pictures and words as she rambles in baby gibberish. Mademoiselle also loves to talk on the phone, which indicates that I’m on the phone way too much. She also tries desperately to put on my head scarf and is already trying to dress herself, sometimes in my clothes.

Like a good student of life, Mademoiselle is very observant, studying our every move with a stern look on her face. In fact, strangers constantly remark about how serious she is, but what they don’t seem to understand is that she is in the process of learning. Mademoiselle actions only proves what we already know about kids at this age; they’re like sponges, absorbing everything they see. From birth and beyond, it is within my power as her mother to cultivate not only a positive self image, but also a love of learning and music.  

Little Fashionista 2

I want my daughter to excel far beyond what I’ve accomplished. I want Mademoiselle to be an urbane girl, meaning to be polished: showing a high degree of refinement and the assurance that comes from a wide social experience. I want to expose her to things that will develop an exquisite taste in art and a high value in education and I want her to be a world traveler. In other words, it is my strong desire to build her social capital that will enable her to function effectively in society within all social classes. I also want Mademoiselle to be clear that no never means no. I want to empower her to go after what she wants in the face of rejection. And lastly, I want to nurture a sense of great style, an eye for high, sophisticated fashion that stems from her worldly experiences. My hope is to lay a strong enough foundation that will enable Mademoiselle to develop a style of her own.

*Outfit on top is from Ralph Lauren and the other is from Lucky Brand.

10 Comments on “A Style of Her Own: Nurturing Good Taste”

  1. Sylvie says:

    Those outfits are so cute, makes me want a little girl.

  2. The Ralph Lauren dress with the mary janes are definitely cute I would put that on my 4 year old

    Truly Curvaceous

  3. Sherri says:

    The are too cute! I love the Flower’s by Zoe line for girls, wish they made them my size! I love these baby clothes for girls at http://www.sandboxcouture.com

  4. Sylvie: It’s so funny you say that because I used to say the same thing; however, after the birth of my second son I figured I was done. Little did I know, I would get a pleasant surprise seven years later. Now, I have so much fun shopping for her.

    Truly Curvaceous: I love that outfit too!

    Sherri: Thanks so much for sharing Sandbox Couture with me. I love what they have to offer.

  5. jj says:

    wow! i like how that empowerment talk sounds. sign me up! er…i guess i got to get myself a lil girl first.

    i just read this blurb in a parenting magazine that dressing girls in pink all the time isn’t such a good thing since the color denotes passivity and calm. in essence, it discourages girls to question and limits their curiousity (i know sounds like some jaburwhacky right?) but you never know. i recall purposefully treating my niece rough like my boys (ie tossing her in the air) so she isn’t afraid of heights and adventure. of course, i read that people handle girls with kid gloves and thus the result is dainty princesses that scream at the sight of blood or bugs. maybe i’m too much a tomboy!

    you can read yourself into a panic with all the conflicting stuff out there. LOL!

  6. Nerd Girl says:

    LOL! Just wait until you go to tell her something, and she throws her hand up and says “Mama please, I’m on the phone. I’ll be with you in a moment.” When Lovegirl did that to me, I just thought I would die. Cute outfits though I must confess, I do not spend that type of money on clothes for one whose ideal day consists of pouring garden soil over her head and chasing squirrels in the backyard.

  7. Hey JJ: I believe it was before the twentieth century that pink was once a boys color and blue for girls. It was changed because pink was considered a passive color, so they changed it. I was a girlie girl, but I didn’t take mess from anyone.

    Nerd Girl: I will break down and cry when that moment comes. You just want them to stay young forever. I buy clothes like this for my kids when they go on that super sale. I learned this lesson the hard way with my first son. I spent so much money on his clothes only to discover a month or two later those same outfits where marked down. I may have expensive taste, but I’m a smart shopper.

  8. Angelicque says:

    I loved your post, it articulated just what I want for my two girls, to be able to feel comfortable in any situation from Gucci to Gap, from the classroom to the boardroom.
    I wish for them all the opportunities that i’ve had and more.

  9. yacine says:

    Talking about the color pink and blue, My husband and I just love buying our little girl blue colored clothings. Just the other day I was telling him we must be one of the few parents who like buying blue for our little girl since blue is now considered a color for boys.

  10. Yacine,

    It’s amazing how we are socially constructed, resulting in our unconscious following of what is considered the social norm. If blue looks good on your little girl let her wear it. I buy Mademoiselle whatever looks good on her.


Leave a Reply

